

AMSA ADMIN 2023/4

NSCV Part B (Specified areas) Determination 2023

I, Michael Kinley, Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Maritime Safety Authority (*AMSA*) (the National Marine Safety Regulator under section 9 of the *Marine Safety (Domestic Commercial Vessel) National Law*)

revoke NSCV Part B (Specified areas) Determination 2018; and

determine the following list of specified areas for subsection 2.4(4) of Part B of the National Standard for Commercial Vessels:

- (a) for New South Wales the areas described in Schedule 1:
- (b) for Queensland the areas described in Schedule 2;
- (c) for Western Australia the area described in Schedule 3;
- (d) for South Australia:
 - (i) for vessels that are less than 7.5 m long the areas described in Figure 1 of Schedule 4; and
 - (ii) for vessels that are at least 7.5 m long and less than 12 m long the area described in Figure 2 of Schedule 4;
- (e) for Tasmania:
 - (i) for vessels that are less than 4.25 m long not more than 10 nm from the point of departure of the vessel but within the area described in Figure 1 of Schedule 5; and
 - (ii) for vessels that are at least 4.25 m long and less than 5.5 m long not more than 20 nm from the point of departure of the vessel but within the area described in Figure 2 of Schedule 5; and
 - (iii) for vessels that are at least 5.5 m long and less than 12 m long not more than 30 nm from the point of departure of the vessel but within the area described in Figure 3 of Schedule 5;
 - (iv) for vessels that are at least 4.25 m long and less than 7.5 m long and operating as a tender not more than 15 nm from the parent vessel but within 2 nm from the coastline of any of the following:
 - Tasmania;
 - Badger Island;
 - Bruny Island;
 - Cape Barren Island;
 - De Witt Island;
 - East Kangaroo Island;
 - Flinders Island;
 - Goose Island;

- Hunter Island;
- King Island;
- Maria Island;
- Mount Chappell Island;
- Perkins Island;
- Prime Seal Island;
- Robbins Island;
- Maatsuyker Island.
- (f) for Cocos (Keeling) Islands —the area described in Schedule 6.

In this instrument, *the coastline*, for Tasmania and each island mentioned in subparagraph (e)(iv), has the same meaning as in Schedule 5.

This Determination commences 23 December 2023.

Dated 20 December 2023

Michael Kinley

Chief Executive Officer