Australian Maritime Safety Authority

About the Maritime Labour Convention

The MLC, 2006 is an international convention developed under the International Labour Organization that came into force internationally on 20 August 2013.

Australia is a signatory to the MLC, 2006 which consolidates existing labour conventions, while introducing modern standards relating to the working and living conditions of seafarers.

About the MLC, 2006

The MLC, 2006 provides working and living standards for the world’s 1.4 million seafarers and sits alongside the following Conventions:


In Australia, the MLC, 2006 has been implemented primarily through the Navigation Act 2012 and associated delegated legislation, such as Marine Order 11 (Living and working conditions on vessels) 2015. Marine Order 11 contains regulations that address the following components:

  • Maritime labour certificates
  • Interim maritime labour certificates
  • Recruitment and placement
  • Complaints
  • Engagement and working conditions of seafarers
  • Provisions
  • Health
  • Accommodation – use and vessel plans / design and construction / working spaces
  • Welfare of seafarers
  • Accommodation – sanitary and laundry facilities / hospital facilities
  • Repatriation

Related information


Twitter Facebook YouTube Copyright · Accessibility · Site Map · Privacy

Information Publication Scheme Davis Langdon Certification Services